Winter, snow, and running.

Soooo as I sit here writing this post, it’s snowing.  Winter storm “Jonas” is here, showering us with snow… lots and lots of snow.  Winter is probably the season that affects my running the most negatively.  I don’t mind running in cold weather, but in the past year or so the low temps have been LOW like (-) degrees to teens (that really sucks to run in).  Snow and ice also make it hard to run, ya see I live up a holler so it’s not always convenient to get to the trail.  And the rail trail near my house also isn’t cleared off by anyone so when I do go run in the snow I’m running through inches of snow– bummer.

Last Tuesday I chose to run around 2:30 in the afternoon.  There were a couple of inches of snow on the ground already and I was the only person on the trail.  The scenery was really pretty and I was just trying to focus on that and not how cold it was and how slow I was running.  Then about half way into my run a whiteout hit, I was about 1.5 miles away from my car.  Just perfect, I thought.  I ended up having to just stop at one point because I couldn’t see anything but I was able to make it back to the car and home safely.  Side note- I don’t recommend running, walking, driving, or basically being out during bad weather.  BUT if you do go out, or are already out, or HAVE to be out just use common sense and be careful please!! 🙂

running in snow

And when I do go run in the snow and when I’ve run in the snow in the past I don’t do it to be hardcore, I do it because I really do like to run outside when I can and in the past that was the only way I could get my runs in, until now…

We’ve had hand me down old treadmills in the past but they really have not cut it.  Insert- the impending sucky weather making josh and I bite the bullet and get a FREAKING TREADMILL!!!!!!!! 😀

It is SO nice to run indoors on something that is reliable and wide enough for you to run on with a belt that won’t stop each time you take a step!!  AND now on rushed days I can run in the evenings when I normally wouldn’t be able to, so NO EXCUSES!!!  YAAASSS!!!!  I’m pretty jazzed about this if you can’t tell.  I used my treadmill for the first time a little bit ago and my cool down was going outside to sweep off my sidewalks and shovel my driveway, everything was already covered by the time I was finished of course.  Oh well!  Everyone be safe this weekend and always, and most important: BE SMART!!!!

Do you live in crazy weather?  Do you have a treadmill, if so hate it or love it?

Thanks for reading as usual!!

Leave a comment