3rd Runniversary!

Sooooo today marked my 3rd year since I began running, or my “runniversary” as I like to call it.  Never in my wildest dreams did I think that snowy 3 mile run would lead me to where I’m at today.  I was NEVER a runner and I never thought I would enjoy it as much as I did and still do to this day.

When I first started running three years ago I had a purpose and a reason– the Paris Marathon.  When marathon day arrived and even as I was completing the race I was thinking “this is it, once I’m done wit this I’m never running again!”  However, the more miserable I felt during the race, the more proud of myself I became for sticking with it and not giving up.  I also realized at that moment that I was doing this for me, not for anyone else and I think that’s one of the things that has made running such an important part of my life, even to this day.  After finishing that marathon I realized that I was capable of doing more than I ever thought, it’s partly what gave me the confidence to apply for the job in the N.I.C.U., where I still work.  I don’t think if I had pushed myself through that race I would’ve ever thought I could work in an environment like that or have the confidence to even apply.  Through running I’ve learned that it’s okay to feel uncomfortable- I have become more comfortable with feeling uncomfortable since that’s what running is kind of about (for me at least).

In a race I push myself harder than I do when I just go out and run, I may not feel great at first but if I want to try for a new PR then that’s what I have to do.  Lately with my training runs I’ve been adding speed work at least once a week to my routine (400 repeats and tempo runs for example) and when doing 400’s I run much faster than usual and it can be difficult to just let myself go and run the speed that I need to to get the most out of the workout.  Running a new distance in a new city also takes me out of my comfort zone.  The Chicago Marathon had me anxious because my training didn’t go the way I would’ve liked and because it had been over 2 years since I had completed this distance, but shortly after the race started I calmed down, settled in, and finished.

I guess what I’m getting at is that running has taught me a lot about myself and what I’m actually capable of as opposed to what I only think I can do.  For this I’m forever grateful.

I’m currently training for a purpose again which motivates me and keeps me accountable with my training!

 

 

rnrdallas

I’ll be heading to back to Texas in March to run the Rock ‘N’ Roll Dallas 5K and half marathon!  Josh will be going with me of course (running both races too) and my sister and her boyfriend Moses are going to meet us too!!  She’s going to run both races and Moses is gonna get into it and run the 5K!!!!  Nothing I love more than hanging out with awesome people and running!!

Tomorrow will mark the start of week 4 of training.  It’s going well so far, I missed one run due to my work schedule but I’m not stressing over it. I’ve also incorporated Piyo into my workout routine.  It’s a really great blend of yoga and Pilates, low impact but boy oh boy do I sweat!!  I’ll be going into week 4 of doing Piyo and I can tell a difference in my flexibility and core strength (where I feel I need the most work) so I’m really jazzed about that!

I’m so excited for this year of running, I’ve got a lot planned and I hope it ends up being as great as I hope! : )  Thanks for reading!!

Leave a comment