CASA Superhero 5K

Soooo I recently ran the 3rd race in the MCPARC race series I had mentioned in a previous post, the CASA superhero 5K, in Fairmont, WV.  This is a race I had heard about in previous years but had never been able to run!  If you’ve never heard of CASA, it’s an organization that helps abused children, and the theme of the race is that these children don’t just need a hero, they need a superhero!  So it is encouraged that runners and walkers dress up as a superhero.

Naturally, I chose Michaelangelo from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles!  My foot was sore beginning the race and I wasn’t sure if I was even going to run it when I got there, but I decided to go for it anyway!

The course started on top of a pretty long hill and we ran downward for close to a half mile and my foot hurt pretty bad during this part of the race, but I didn’t push it, my goal wasn’t to PR or place in my age group, just to run and enjoy it and hope my foot didn’t hurt too bad.  Once we got onto the flat part of the race the pain in my foot actually went away, maybe it was that fantastic runner’s high, I don’t know but I actually ended up forgetting that my foot hurt!  Don’t worry though, I didn’t push it, I still kept a conservative pace and focused on finishing the race.

The race ended with an uphill finish and I felt really strong due to the training that I had been doing for the half marathon at Harper’s Ferry, so I was happy that I finished strong and didn’t have to walk during the race!

I didn’t stick around, but there was a pretty nice party afterward with food from Dos Hermanos where the awards were given out.  Hopefully next year I’ll be in full racing form, it will be warmer, and I won’t have anywhere to be afterward so I can truly partake in all of the festivities of the day!  This was a fun race, and I highly recommend that you run it if you can; in your superhero costume of course!

Thanks for reading!!

Leave a comment